articles - biographie - actualité



Cyberarts 2004, Ars Electronica

Honorary mentions, jury statement (p 155)

09- 2004


This elegant collaboration between Nicolas Clauss, Jean-Jacques Birgé and Didier Silhol integrates image, sound, dance, and interaction into a seamless experience. The textured, photographic appearance creates an etheral atmosphere from which the piece is revealed. It does not replace the experience of a dance event in real space, but promotes an alternate encounter through combining visual representation of body movements with a playful style of interaction.
Birgé's extraordinary audio stylings cleverly combine samples into ever-changing sounds in response to the visitors mouse. Somnambules is an extremely web-savvy presentation, using image sequences and audio loops to achieve something greater than the sum of its individual parts.


articles - biographie - actualité